About us

About the “Chalet”

In 1898, opposite the Horgen Oberdorf train station, a restaurant was built in the style of the Nordostbahnen, the so-called “Laubsägeli style”. Several years ago the “Bahnhöfli” was renamed to Restaurant Bar Chalet. This mainly because of its appearance.

The “Chalet” in Horgen Oberdorf is a real rarity: it is one of the few objects of the time, which is still preserved in its original sense, and is under homeland protection. The premises exude much warmth and coziness. Thus, the restaurant chalet includes the unique “Wappenraum” and a cozy dining room with a view of Lake Zurich in addition to its cozy Apèrobar.

The Chalet India Team guarantees excellent cuisine and is convinced that you too will feel at home in the “Chalet”.

The host & chef

Sudhir Chauhan
Managing Director, Chef de Cuisine

Sudhir Chauhan combines a thorough understanding of traditional values and contemporary style. He has been successfully working in the hospitality industry for over 20 years. Before he came to Europe, he learned and succeeded with master chefs in Jaipur (Rajasthan). He first set foot in Europe as chef in London. Afterwards he moved to Switzerland, where he worked in Zurich, as well as in an Indian restaurant in Winterthur.

 

Order online

You can online order our food to pick up and enjoy at home.

Order now!

Reservation

Reserve a table now!

Über uns

Über das «Chalet»

Im Jahre 1898 wurde vis à vis vom Bahnhof Horgen Oberdorf ein Restaurant im Stil der Nordostbahnen, dem so genannten «Laubsägeli-Stil», gebaut. Vor etlichen Jahren wurde das «Bahnhöfli» in Restaurant Bar Chalet umbenannt. Dies vor allem seines Aussehens wegen.

Das «Chalet» in Horgen Oberdorf ist eine echte Rarität: Es ist eines der wenigen Objekte der damaligen Zeit, das noch in seinem ursprünglichen Sinne erhalten ist, und steht unter Heimatschutz. Die Räumlichkeiten strahen viel Wärme und Gemütlichkeit aus. So beinhaltet das Restaurant Chalet neben seiner gemütlichen Apèrobar den einzigartigen Wappenraum und einen heimeligen Speisesaal mit Blick auf den Zürichsee.

Das Chalet India Team garantiert eine vorzügliche Küche und ist überzeugt, dass auch Sie sich im «Chalet» wohl fühlen werden.

Der Gastgeber & Küchenchef

Sudhir Chauhan
Geschäftsführer, Chef de Cuisine

Sudhir Chauhan kombiniert ein gründliches Verständnis der traditionellen Werte und zeitgenössischem Stil. Seit über 20 Jahren ist er erfolgreich in der Gastronomie tätig. Bevor er nach Europa kam, lernte und reüssierte er bei Meisterköchen in Jaipur (Rajasthan). Als Küchenchef in London fasste er in Europa Fuss. Danach zog es ihn in die Schweiz, wo er sowohl in Zürich, wie auch in einem indischen Restaurant in Winterthur tätig war.

 

Online bestellen

Sie können unsere Speisen zum selber abholen online bestellen und bei sich zu Hause geniessen.

Jetzt bestellen!